“Ungodly” dressed women provoke rape

I do not consider myself to be a feminist.  I think all men and women are created, and should be treated, equally.  I am the first to admit that I am ignorant to a lot of the injustices that occur in the very city I call home.  It takes a lot to rouse the little voice in my head that is ashamed that the rest of me is not more involved in political and social feminism.  Well this article, which talks about a religious pamphlet that is distributed to “ungodly” dressed women, woke the sleeping giant.

Rape is one of those intense violations of personal, physical and emotional space that I feel only those who experienced it first hand can talk about without looking like a total nitwit.

The pamphlet, which was distributed primarily in Virginia says:

“You may have been given this leaflet because of the way you are dressed,” it begins. “Have you thought about standing before the true and living God to be judged?”
“Scripture tells us that when a man looks on a woman to lust for her he has already committed adultery in his heart. If you are dressed in a way that tempts a men to do this secret (or not so secret) sin, you are a participant in the sin. By the way, some rape victims would not have been raped if they had dressed properly. So can we really say they were innocent victims?”

My digital ethics issue with this is- is it ethical to publish this online?  The leaflet was only passed out in a small town… where, maybe 2,000 had heard about it.  This is given new, HUGE life on the internet.

Leave a Reply

